The winner for 2015 is Scott Ruescher!
Honorable mention: Sally Worthing

Scott Ruescher won the 2013 Erika Mumford Prize for poetry about travel and international culture from the New England Poetry Club for "Looking for Lorca"—one of the eleven poems in his chapbook Perfect Memory (Finishing Line Press, 2015). Some of the other poems have appeared in Tower Journal, Naugatuck River Review, In My Bed, Harvard Educational Review, and the Larcom Review. His chapbook Sidewalk Tectonics was released by Pudding House Publications in 2009. Ruescher coordinates the Arts in Education program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and teaches in the Boston University Prison Education program.

Submissions for 2016 are now open.


Poetry Quarterly is proud to offer the Rebecca Lard award for 2016.
Submissions for this award will be accepted through December 2016.

The winner of the Lard award will receive:

  • $300 (US)
  • Your poem featured in the subsequent issue of Poetry Quarterly
  • 1 Copy of the issue in print
  • You will be featured on the back cover
  • You will be featured on the Poetry Quarterly website
  • Free entry to the next Poetry Quarterly Contest

    Honorable mentions (if any) will receive:

  • Publication in Poetry Quarterly
  • Free entry to the next contest

    For complete details, see "Rules"

  • All entrants receive a 1 year electronic subscription. ($20 Value)
  • All poems submitted are considered for publication.

    Rebecca Lard (1772-1855) was the first poet in Indiana. In her day, Lard was well known for submitting to publications. A copy of her little volume of verse (there are only five numbered pages) is preserved in the collection of the Historical & Philosophical Society of Ohio, Cincinnati, and an undated clipping from an early issue of the Cincinnati Gazette pasted on the inner wrapper states that it is the work of Mrs. Lard, "a lady of Indiana." Also authored The Banks of the Ohio which was published in 1823.

    To submit by mail see the "Rules" page.

  • __________________________________________________
    About the 2016 judge:

    The 2016 contest will be judged by our editor.

    Submission Manager V.1.2 ©2015 - The professional's choice.